Writers Football

The Israeli national football team of writers and poets was founded in late 2007 by Assaf Gavron. The team includes published contemporary Israeli novelists, poets, children’s books authors, non-fiction writers, playwrights, book editors and publishers.

The team takes part in tournaments and friendly matches against other international writers teams. The idea is to encourage friendship and cooperation between Israeli writers and writers from other countries, and among the Israeli writers themselves, and expose the writers from different countries to new readers.

The story of founding the team >>>

International matches •

6 May 2008, Berlin, Germany:
Germany – Israel: 4-2
Scorers: Lior Garti, Uri Sheradski (p)


14 December 2008, Kfar-Saba, Israel:
Israel – England: 3-2
Scorers: Udi Sharabani (2), Nir Baram

Story by Musa Okwonga from England (pictured, behind the flying Udi Sharabani) on England’s trip and the match:
part 1 >>> part 2 >>>


16 December 2008, Rishon Lezion, Israel:
Israel – Germany: 4-2
Scorers: Roi Shani (3), Nir Baram
(Israel wins the International Writers Football Tournament.)

Story by Nir Baram on the tournament >>>

28 February 2010, London, England:
England – Israel: 5-2
Scorer: Udi Sharabani (2)

Story by Joe Dunthorne on the match >>>

10 June 2012, Haifa, Israel:
Israel: – Germany 1-1
Scorer: Lior Garti

12 June 2012, Haifa, Israel:
Israel – Italy: 2-3
Scorer: Udi Sharabani (2)

(Italy wins the Haifa International Football Writers Tournament 2012)

19 June 2013, Haifa, Israel:
Israel – Sweden: 4-2
Scorers: Roi Shani (2), Udi Sharabani, Yossi Laham







20 June 2013, Haifa, Israel:
Israel – Germany: 2-2
Scorer: Yossi Laham, Udi Sharabani (p)







22 June 2013, Haifa, Israel:
Israel – Italy: 1-4
Scorer: Roi Shani

(Italy wins the Haifa International Football Writers Tournament 2013)


20 September 2014, Vienna, Austria:
Austria – Israel: 1-6
Scorers: Roi Shani (3), Yossi Laham, Udi Sharabani, Uri Sheradski (p)